Oh Mother ❤️ Ya Ummi ❤️ Oh Mutter ❤️ O Madre ❤️ Annem ❤️

YA BAKİ ENTEL BAKİ

sem-Qur'an

f4d7a8e5

How can I not love my mother — when she carried me first in her body, then in her arms, and then for a lifetime in her heart.

Annemi nasıl sevmem ki — beni bir müddet cisminde, bir müddet kollarında, ömür boyu yüreğinde taşıyor.

Mulla Jami (Molla Cami)

sem.g

Abu Hurairah (radiallahu anh) reported:A person came to Messenger of Allah (salallahu ‘alayhi wasallam) and asked, “Who among people is most deserving of my fine treatment?” He (salallahu ‘alayhi wasallam) said, “Your mother.” He again asked, `Who next?’ ‘Your mother‘, the Prophet (salallahu ‘alayhi wasallam) replied again. He asked, “Who next?” He (the Prophet (salallahu ‘alayhi wasallam) said again, “Your mother.” He again asked, “Then who?” Thereupon he (salallahu ‘alayhi wasallam) said, ‘Then your Father.”

Abu Huraira, radiallahu ‘anhu, berichtete, dass ein Mann zum Gesandten Allahs, sallallahu ‘aleihi wa sallam, kam und fragte:”Oh Gesandter Allahs, wer von den Menschen ist am meisten…

View original post 176 more words

Get Up Close and Personal with Beautiful Snowflakes

TIME

He speaks to TIME LightBox about his process.

TIME LightBox: Tell us about yourself and how you became interested in photography.

Michael Peres: When I was in a high school I was planning to go to college to become a doctor. But in my senior year, I was the sports editor for my school yearbook and the kid taking the pictures was someone [who] didn’t know much about photography — so I went with him on the photo shoots. From the moment we developed the photos, I was hooked. The polarity in my wiring changed and I thought that it was the coolest thing.

View original post 686 more words

Mexican Mayor Grilled for Lifting Girl’s Dress While Dancing at Birthday Bash

TIME

A mayor in Mexico has found himself in hot water after videos emerged of him lifting a young girl’s dress and exposing her underwear in front of thousands of people.

During his lavish 44th birthday party on Mexico’s Pacific coast on Saturday, San Blas Mayor Hilario Ramírez Villanueva chose to momentarily disrobe the woman in front of 50,000 revelers. He also drew criticism for the event’s costs, which reportedly neared $100,000.

“When one is happy, and the women are happy, one doesn’t calculate. It’s not an excuse, but I do ask for forgiveness from my friend Rosita,” Villanueva told Mexican television.

Villanueva is no stranger to controversy, having confessed to pilfering “a little bit” of public funds in 2014. However, he later called that incident nothing more than a party joke: “If I were a thief, I wouldn’t have been elected mayor twice,” he said.

[AFP]

View original post

Vivaldi browser’s latest features include “fast forward and rewind”

Gigaom

Ordinarily I wouldn’t be writing multiple stories about technical previews of a new browser, but Jon von Tetzchner’s new Vivaldi keeps coming up with surprises even before it hits the beta stage.

Vivaldi’s second technical preview, released Thursday, adds expected features such as bookmarks, but it also includes new ideas such as “fast forward and rewind”. The fast forward feature acts as a navigational aid for jumping to the most logical next page – the next search result or forum thread page, or the next photo in a gallery. Fast rewind takes you back to the first page you visited on the site you’re reading.

The Opera founder’s new power browser is also gaining features that could well endear it to various niches. For those on slow or costly connections, there’s control over whether pages should load images or not, or only show cached images. For those surfing without…

View original post 168 more words

Winter stroll on the Boardwalk by Keith Alfier (Where I Live Poetry & Photography Series)

Silver Birch Press

Alfier_K 2014-02-22 034
PHOTOGRAPH: “Winter stroll on the Boardwalk” (Ocean Grove, New Jersey) by Keith Alfier.

Alfier_K 2014-10-04 1220 - Version 2

ABOUT THE PHOTOGRAPHER: Keith Alfier works as a mechanical designer and divides his time between New Jersey and Germany, where he seeks through photography to capture the passing world. His work has appeared previously in San Pedro River Review.

View original post

Live for the Weekend?

Storytime with John

“I can’t wait for the weekend!” says some tiresome, but probably well meaning person in your workplace…shame it’s only Tuesday – and the drab countdown to allotted free time will now drag even longer than usual…

Why GIF

Why do they do it? Is life really that shit, that you want to tick bits off like it’s a jail sentence you can’t wait to be over? 

I don’t know. Maybe it’s just me. But I hate this idea of, “living for the weekend.” It’s not that I don’t get it (I really do!), it’s just that I feel this means your’e only finding worth in two measly days out of seven. If I was better at maths, I’d work out the percentage of life you are missing out on thanks to this perspective, but I’m not so I won’t – let’s just all agree on a lot. 

My situation is good 

View original post 274 more words

Making Progress

onesmallpot

It took a tough lesson that drove home to me the importance of following recipes while baking.  That looking squint eyed at a 1 kg bag of flour and dumping in approximately a third of it before dousing it in the wet ingredients does not necessarily produce a good, or even vaguely edible, cookie.  That forgetting to sieve the flour, then quickly losing patience while working the lumps out of batter, is a sure fire way to incite the wrath of the cake gods.

My first cake was born of the oven in the small, rented apartment that my family lived in as new immigrants to Australia.  Indian kitchens, traditionally, do not have ovens.  The only home-made cake I had tasted was the one that my mum used to make in the jaffle maker, the one she had excitedly purchased after attending a demonstration at a neighbour’s place.  She would follow…

View original post 501 more words