Conference-record 5 teams in NCAA Tournament field

B1G Baseball

The 2015 season began with Baseball America and D1Baseball each predicting four Big Ten teams to reach the NCAA Tournament. An expected banner season, the Big Ten exceeded all expectations.

Led by Illinois, the No. 6 tournament national seed making a third consecutive year with a Big Ten program hosting a regional, five Big Ten teams will play in an NCAA regional, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland and Michigan joining the conference champion Illini. Five teams nearly doubles the Big Ten’s best prior output when the conference sent three teams into the field of 64 in 1999, 2000 and 2007.

Now the road to Omaha begins, the five teams looking to reach the College World Series, to play for a national championship. The last Big Ten team to play in the College World Series was Indiana in 2013, the Hoosiers ending a 30-season dry spell for the conference, Michigan in 1984 the last…

View original post 438 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s