Player Style Files: Brian Dozier Enjoying Life Of Baseball, Hunting

CBS Houston

By David Heim

Everyone has a childhood hero. For Minnesota Twins second baseman Brian Dozier, Derek Jeter fit that role.

?My sports hero growing up was Derek Jeter; he was kind of my sports idol,? Dozier said. ?The first time I met Derek, I was so nervous like a little kid; finally got to meet your childhood hero. But then as the years progressed, the past few years, he knows me. It?s that kind of thing and you develop a relationship and a friendship on the field, playing against each other. It?s pretty surreal to be honest.?

While Dozier sports the number two on his back as a token to Jeter, someone else had an influence on his passion for baseball.

?I got into baseball when I was about five years old,? Dozier said. ?My dad was my little league coach, tee-ball coach and we started then. ?It was something…

View original post 203 more words

Leave a Reply

