U-11 Soccer Girls Gone Wild

Gerbil News Network

As it finally hit me that the United States had defeated Japan to win their first women’s World Cup since 1999, I knew where I had to go; out into the streets of my neighborhood to celebrate with my girls–Courtney, Kirsten and Taylor–who I’d coached from Kinder Kick to Third Grade 3-on-3 until last year, when their parents had taken me aside and told me it was probably time for someone who actually knew something about soccer–like what it means to be “offsides”–to take the helm.

“Fine,” I said stoically, but I had a lump in my throat even though I’d known all along that in the high-pressure world of youth soccer there’s nobody more expendable than the coach.  Still, I’d followed my girls last spring and was pleased at the fundamentals they’d picked up under my supervision; don’t touch the ball with your hands, don’t crowd around the ball, don’t drink out of somebody…

View original post 743 more words

Leave a Reply

