Gaata Rahe Mera Dil – 50 Classic Film Songs – Anirudha Bhattacharjee and Balaji Vittal

Songs, Stories, Books and more...

GRMD

A couple of weeks back, I saw a tweet announcing an upcoming book that piqued my curiosity. I wanted to get my hands on it right then. The book was titled Gaata Rahe Mera Dil, a compilation of 50 classic Hindi film songs from the period 1935 to 1993. And it had a still of Nutan and Dev Anand on the cover! Considering the time I have spent making song lists on this blog, I remember thinking – Wow, only 50 songs over a period of 70 years? What a task for the authors!

Also, the names of the authors sounded familiar but I could not place it then. Anirudha Bhattacharjee and Balaji Vittal had written a much acclaimed book on R.D. Burman years back – a book I had read and enjoyed at that point in time. (Note to self – Read the book again now.)

Earlier this week, it landed…

View original post 756 more words

Leave a Reply

