Your summer reading list is actually really important.

I was a high-school feminist

Well, we’re knee deep in summer, and if you’re in school or a teacher, the past school year is nothing but a distant, fuzzy memory, and next year is so far away it doesn’t even exist.

So, I argue, now would be a great time to start your summer reading.

Wait! Don’t close the tab! I know, I know, that isn’t a popular suggestion. I, for one, always hated summer reading. Don’t get me wrong – I love reading. In fact, in high school, I worked at the library every summer just so I could come home every day with stacks of books to read in the comfort of air conditioning.

Robert Redford in The Natural, one of the many books about a boy and his sport that I had to read in high school. Robert Redford in The Natural, one of the many books about a boy and his sport that I had to read in high school.

But the thing is, summer reading choices are often kind of uninspiring. The books I…

View original post 1,046 more words

Leave a Reply

